VOGUE ITALIA – THE BLACK ISSUE

For the July issue of Italian Vogue, Mr. Meisel has photographed only black models. In a reverse of the general pattern of fashion magazines, all the faces are black, and all the feature topics are related to black women in the arts and entertainment. Mr. Meisel was given roughly 100 pages for his pictures. The issue will be on European newsstands next Thursday and in the United States soon after.

View article/slide show here

I suppose we should all be grateful that in 2008 Vogue has decided to dedicate one whole issue to featuring the black woman. It’s a very brave move on their part – MONUMENTAL!!!!!

Thank you Vogue. I feel so special right now. Before this I thought my skin was too dark, my nose too wide, my lips too full, and my backside too big. But because of your GROUND BREAKING decision, I now feel beautiful and accepted…..

However ladies, let’s not get over excited, because come August, September, October, November, December and there after, it will go back to being BUSINESS AS USUAL!

But for now lets just savor this special moment, and thank Vogue for allowing our beauty to shine for one month only in between their sacred pages.

Now lets all shuck and jive in the streets…

10 replies »

  1. YOU GOT THAT RIGHT!

    I WONDER WHAT MADE THEM DO SOMETHING LIKE THIS IN THE FIRST PLACE.

    SO NOW ARE THE REST OF THE MAGAZINES GONNA FOLLOW?

    WELL, LET PUT ON MY SHUCKIN’ SHOES ON SO I CAN DO THE JIVE!

  2. I read that Tocarra from ANTM is also featured in the magazine.
    Yeah, where are the Black women with my features! More Alek and less Halle. They believe they’re doing us a favor. Puhleeze. Show me Angie Stone or Jill Scott. Two very beautuful women, not cookie cutter, eurocentric gotta be’s. Aside from Naomi and Alek , I am not sure any other models with features that represent my family, friends and neighbors
    are represented in this market.

  3. I am glad to see this…

    ‘Bout time someone recognized the Most Beautiful Person on the Earth–the African Female.

    I don’t discriminate (you are all pink in the middle!), but my Black Queens? Nothing better. Truly. You all come in so many shapes and colors, it’s mind blowing. I try to instill this pride in my daughter every day…try to let her know that she is a Princess and to be honored and respected and to carry herself accordingly.

    I love you My Queens~!

    LOL

  4. To vogue Italia……thank you

    People may discriminate that having fuller lips, or A darker skin or having a buttox is abnormal in the fashion/model industry, funny enough certain people do botox to have fuller lips, sit in the sun all day to have a tan…(to be darker) and have plastic surgery to have some juice in their buttox……..you all know who I am talking about yet some discriminate and call this wonderful idea”planet of the apes” well…….to all the BLACK women in the world you are so beautiful. You do not need to TAN, have BOTOX and you still look beautiful at 60.

Follow MAD NEWS UK on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow me on Twitter

Instagram

Instagram

Archives

June 2008
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30